Monday, April 8, 2013

Miranda Lambert triumphs at country awards

Miranda Lambert was the big winner at this year's Academy of Country Music awards, taking home three honours including female vocalist of the year.
She also won song of the year for Over You, written with her husband Blake Shelton, who also hosted the show.
Lambert said: "Thank you for accepting me as a songwriter and not just as a singer, that means the world to me."
Taylor Swift was up for five awards but went home empty-handed. She performed with Keith Urban and Tim McGraw.
Newcomer Hunter Hayes was nominated in six categories but also failed to win. He did get to perform with Motown legend Stevie Wonder on his new single I Want Crazy and a cover of Wonder's song Sir Duke.
Shelton's co-host Luke Bryan was the surprise winner of the prestigious entertainer of the year award, which was widely expected to go to Swift, who won it in 2011 and 2012.
'Defining moment' Bryan, who has only just begun headlining his own shows and co-hosted the awards with Shelton, said: "What I always wanted to be is just a country singer who got to ride on a tour bus and perform every night.
"This is the defining moment of my life, it means the world to me and I'll never take it for granted."
Lambert's second award of the evening was for Over You, which was also named single record of the year.
Jason Aldean was named male vocalist of the year, beating Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Toby Keith and Blake Shelton.
But Church won album of the year for Chief and vocal event of the year, with Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan, for The Only Way I Know.
Duo Florida Georgia Line picked up two awards, new vocal duo or group of the year and new artist of the year.
Brantley Gilbert was named new male vocalist of the year and Jana Kramer best new female vocalist.
Husband and wife pairing Thompson Square won vocal duo of the year, while Alabama outfit Little Big Town were named best vocal group.
The three-hour televised show also included performances from American Idol winners Carrie Underwood and Kelly Clarkson, Garth Brooks and George Strait, and Brad Paisley and John Mayer.
The 48th Academy of Country Music awards took place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.



Post a Comment